List Of Governors, Deputies Under EFCC’s Investigation

List Of Governors, Deputies Under EFCC’s Investigation


The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) is initiating expansive investigations into governors and their deputies who are soon to lose their immunity from prosecution as they leave office, according to reliable sources that spoke with Premium Times.Continue Full Reading>>>


An internal memo reveals the EFCC’s scrutiny extends to at least 28 governors and their deputies, in a country with 36 states each governed by a governor-deputy duo.


Eighteen of the governors, along with their deputies, who are slated for EFCC’s scrutiny are set to step down when they complete their second terms in office on May 29.Continue Full Reading>>>


Another governor will also exit office after serving a term on the same date, while ten others are slated to serve a second term following recent elections.


A comprehensive investigation is being undertaken, with the EFCC asking for the assets declaration forms of these officials from the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB), according to an official communication between the two agencies seen by the platform.Continue Full Reading>>>


The EFCC’s specific cases against these officials remain unclear.


However, the agency indicated in a letter to the CCB chairperson, Mohammed Isah, that it requires these asset declaration documents to support an ongoing investigation involving the aforementioned officers.


The EFCC’s letter dated April 11, signed on behalf of the EFCC’s chair, Abduralsheed Bawa, includes a list of governors and deputies who assumed office in either 2015 or 2019.Continue Full Reading>>>


The agency requested asset declaration forms submitted at the beginning and end of the current tenure for these officials.


It is uncertain if the CCB has replied to the EFCC’s letter.


The assets declaration documents are invaluable resources for investigators.Continue Full Reading>>>


However, serving presidents, vice presidents, governors, and deputy governors in Nigeria are immune from criminal prosecution, limiting the EFCC and other anti-corruption agencies to preliminary investigations.


List of Governors Under Investigation


The outgoing Zamfara governor, Bello Matawalle, and his deputy, Hassan Gusau, are among the 28 governors under the EFCC investigation.


The extensive list also includes notable names like Rivers state governor Nyesom Wike, Abdullahi Ganduje, Abubakar Bagudu, Abubakar Bello, Samuel Ortom, and Babajide Sanwo-Olu.


See the full list of governors and their deputies below:


  1. Abia State


Governor – Okezie Ikpeazu


Deputy – Ude Oko Chukwu


  1. Adamawa State


Governor – Ahmadu Fintiri


Deputy – Crowther Seth


  1. Akwa Ibom State


Governor – Udom Emmanuel


Deputy – Moses Ekpo


  1. Bauchi State


Governor – Bala Mohammed


Deputy – Baba Tela


  1. Benue State


Governor – Samuel Ortom


Deputy – Benson Abounu


  1. Borno State


Governor – Babagana Zulum


Deputy – Umar Kadafur


  1. Cross River


Governor – Benedict Ayade


Deputy – Ivara Esu


  1. Delta State


Governor – Ifeanyi Okowa


Deputy – Kingsley Otuaro


  1. Ebonyi State


Governor – Dave Umahi


Deputy – Eric Igwe


  1. Enugu State


Governor – Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi


Deputy – Cecilia Ezeilo


  1. Gombe State


Governor – Muhammad Yahaya


Deputy – Manasseh Jatau


  1. Jigawa State


Governor – Muhammad Abubakar


Deputy – Umar Namadi


  1. Kaduna State


Governor – Nasir El-Rufai


Deputy – Hadiza Balarabe


  1. Kano State


Governor – Abdullahi Ganduje


Deputy – Nasir Gawuna


  1. Katsina State


Governor – Aminu Masari


Deputy – Mannir Yakubu


  1. Kebbi State


Governor – Abubakar Bagudu


Deputy – Samaila Dabai


  1. Kwara State


Governor – Abdulrahman AbdulRasaq


Deputy – Kayode Alabi


  1. Lagos State


Governor – Babajide Sanwo-Olu


Deputy – Femi Hamzat


  1. Nasarawa State


Governor – Abdullahi Sule


Deputy – Emmanuel Akabe


  1. Niger State


Governor – Abubakar Bello


Deputy – Ahmed Ketso


  1. Ogun State


Governor – Dapo Abiodun


Deputy – Noimot Salako-Oyedele


  1. Oyo State


Governor – Oluwaseyi Makinde


Deputy – Adebayo Lawal


  1. Plateau State


Governor – Simon Lalong


Deputy – Sonni Tyoden


  1. Rivers State


Governor – Nyesom Wike


Deputy – Ipalibo Banigo


  1. Sokoto State


Governor – Aminu Tambuwal


Deputy – Manni Dan-Iya


  1. Taraba State


Governor – Darius Ishaku


Deputy – Haruna Manu


  1. Yobe State


Governor – Mai-Mala Buni


Deputy – Idi Gubana


  1. Zamfara State


Governor – Bello Matawalle


Deputy – Hassan Gusau




Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply